wingblossom: (cookies)
[personal profile] wingblossom
So! I caved and signed up for an account with Twitter. I will probably regret this in the days to come. (Now to find the people I know who are using it. That should be a grand total of...one?)

Life is going along swimmingly -- once in a while, I feel a vague sense of guilt for not posting more often, buuuut there are worse things to consider, I guess. Like the fact that I am currently trying to type without wearing my contact lenses right now, for instance.

Lastly, I take back everything I said about not begrudging Pixar/Disney their Oscar win, because UGH.

on 2010-03-25 06:38 am (UTC)
cyanwitch: (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] cyanwitch
Haha, but didn't you know? Half the reason you get twitter is so you can follow celebrities like OMG.

Also, I always did begrudge them that win, but you knew that. XD On the other hand, I'm not sure what your problem with that link is?

on 2010-03-30 05:12 am (UTC)
cyanwitch: (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] cyanwitch
Mmm, I think a lot of that is societal stereotypes, though. A girl who watches boyish stuff is less likely to be made fun of by her peers than a guy who watches girly stuff. It's annoying, but I think a valid point from a money-making standpoint.
And I think part of it is just gender stereotyping all over again - growing up, my sister and I subsisted on Disney movies, every single one. On the other hand, when my parents would put one in for my brother, they were usually things like The Lion King or Peter Pan, or not even Disney at all. (I swear there was a point when if I ever heard Milo and Otis playing I was going to rip the video out of the TV.) Boys aren't expected to like them, so nobody even tries - and then they don't when they're older, because they're used to cars and explosions and things, and even if they do, their peers don't, and kids can be really mean.
So I guess tl;dr is I'm not happy with it, but I can't really blame them for thinking like that since so many people do, and then they just start the cycle all over again. I guess for me it's more of a general anger than one directed at anything.
(Also, it bugs me less for the Rapunzel mythos than it would if it was say, The Snow Queen. Because Rapunzel didn't really do much in the tower - having a male protagonist who's more active makes sense in this case, imo, since it's not like The Snow Queen where the boy was the passive character.)
...And I'm pretty sure I'm mostly just playing devil's advocate here, but. *shrugs*

on 2010-03-31 11:48 pm (UTC)
cyanwitch: (Default)
Posted by [personal profile] cyanwitch
The marketing executives responsible for promoting their movies are so quick to assume that Princess and the Frog did poorly because it had a female protagonist.

I'm not entirely sure about that, actually. That one post that you linked seems to be the only reporting that I can find on the situation, honestly, and I have to wonder how much is interpretation on the part of the article-writer. I think that the idea of boys not wanting to see a movie with "Princess" in the title isn't wrong - but I think that expanding the premise to all feminine-titled movies is faulty. But I think there's a big difference between "movies with female protagonists" and "movies with excessively girly titles."

why should gender stereotyping in kids' entertainment be allowed to remain the status quo?

Well, I'm not really saying that it should. XD But I would argue that Disney isn't generally, (in the Disney incarnation, at least, and not acquired things like Pixar and Marvel) subject to the gender stereotyping that's kind of apparent here. They've got a pretty long tradition of female protagonists (I am not sure why the article says "'The Snow Queen' ... would have marked the company's fourth animated film with a female protagonist," considering previous films like Mulan or Alice in Wonderland had very obviously female protagonists, for one) and a lot of their programming on the disney channel is female-oriented. I think it's a little less so now, actually, than it was but I'm not sure, since I don't really watch it much anymore. So I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt for this one case. (Pixar, on the other hand, is a whole 'nother story, but they existed as a company before Disney bought them out, at least, and I'm not sure what Disney's policy on the companies they take over is. But you already knew that I'm not overly fond of Pixar's movies.)

how many of Pixar's films feature female characters in leading roles, let alone at all?

Not many, not. As for movies that feature a female protagonist in the lead, titular role? None. Which has always been something I've disliked about them, although apparently they're attempting to remedy that with "The Bear and the Bow."

And I do blame them for continuing to promote backwards thinking, for not even attempting once to toe the line.

And see, here is where I'd disagree with you. Because I think that they have pressed forward in other places before. For example, I am lazy and am going to quote things. But, Disney-owned ABC did this:
"Near the end of the fourth season, main character Ellen Morgan... announces that she is gay. That made her the first primary character of a prime-time series to "come out" on-screen and "Ellen" the first show to star an openly gay character." And, according to the information I've found online, they had to run the scripts past Disney execs first. So while I wouldn't say they've got an exemplary record, I also wouldn't say that they never push the envelope.

....I... may have lost my thread of thought in there at points, since my sister had people over and I kept getting drawn into their conversations, but... I think what I'm trying to say is that if Disney turns this into a trend, as the parent company and not as a subset like Pixar, because I'm really not sure about its practices regarding those companies cause there're like hundreds of them geez, and how much autonomy they're given, then I'd start getting angry. As it is, I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt for this one movie.

Also, I don't really mind the idea of giving more equal time to the protagonists of both sexes, like they did in the Princess and the Frog, because though Naveen was around a lot, and a central part of the storyline, the focus was still on Tiana and she still got the crowning moment of awesome, and I kind of assumed that it was going to be something like that, with a dynamic that didn't shuttle one character out of the spotlight in favor of the other.

And tl;dr, I guess it's just that I'm vaguely skeptical, but I'm not willing to base my opinions off of one article that seems to be all anyone else quotes without seeing it for myself.

Profile

wingblossom: (Default)
let's go exploring

November 2011

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:42 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios